Making claims and connections

09/28/2020

I always had the intention of pursuing artificial intelligence during my ISM journey, but now it is official. I formally submitted my topic proposal for artificial intelligence outlining my history in technology and the experiences that shaped my passions and interests today. From the Techie Camps in my elementary school days to my development of an autonomous vision processing system using machine learning, I was always interested in the accessibility and impact of technology. I intend to continue that mentality into my ISM journey as I begin to expand my scope beyond research in the near future. I reached out to a former artificial intelligence ISM student currently attending UT Austin and I scheduled a zoom meeting with him on Saturday to pick his brain and benefit from any advice or experience he has in the field. I am confident that he will have fantastic ideas regarding the topic and can't wait to hear what he has to say. Additionally, I am planning to contact a graduate student at UC Berkeley working at the Berkeley Artificial Intelligence Research Lab to see how artificial intelligence has evolved at the heart of technology in Silicon Valley. Outside of these developments and discussions, I have continued to stay informed regarding the battle between 'Big Tech' corporations and the federal government as the struggle for user data rages on. Data has become an invaluable resource to companies to the point where they are willing to spend billions to protect their data. Given that most of this data is analyzed and interpreted using AI algorithms, this battle for data will inherently set a precedent for artificial intelligence. Outside of this informal research, this has been a relatively slow week but I plan to pick up the pace significantly as my original work and projects for my machine learning begin this week. I'm excited to see how far I can take this original work opportunity and what the individuals I reached out to have to say over the coming week.


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started