Time to plan it out

10/19/2020

This week, I adopted a more well-rounded approach in regards to my ISM journey. While continuing to reach out to my professionals, I developed a chart to begin my original work project for a handwriting recognition algorithm. As I interviewed an ISM alumni and the research scientist at UC Berkeley, it became increasingly clear that the python was the industry standard language of machine learning and artificial intelligence. As a result, I began to look into standard industry software, such as Tensorflow, to strengthen my fundamental knowledge of technical AI applications. However, given the unique nature of each application of machine learning, additional dependencies are required for each use case scenario. Based on my consulting of experts, it seems that PyTorch is a major, open source library that seems perfect for my applications. However, given it's open source nature, I will have to ensure that I am using stable, consistent builds for my development cycle to ensure longevity for the project. Furthermore, it is unlikely that a single dependency will be able to fit all my needs for the program. Therefore, I will need to use multiple libraries which will inevitably introduce interactivity and compatibility situations that I will need to anticipate. These obstacles will all be integral to the development process as I charted out the original work. Outside of my original work, I wanted to learn more about the interdisciplinary areas between technology (artificial intelligence) and other critical aspects of society, such as business. To achieve this, I recently contacted a senior technology manager at Toyota Financial Services in hopes of learning about the dynamic between technology and large corporations. I am awaiting a response from him and am optimistic about what he has to say and offer. In summary, it's been a relatively slower week in my journey, but I am excited to see the original work and my research progress begin to accelerate once again.


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started